Just Saw Age of Ultron and Here Are My Thoughts

aou cast

I’m a huge sucker for superhero movies, so there was no question as to whether I was going to see Avengers: Age of Ultron. I was a huge fan of the first film (though, admittedly, not so much of some of the movies leading up to it **cough cough Thor**), and I have formed a (probably unhealthy) love for the actors and actresses in the MCU.

So needless to say, I had high hopes for and was pretty psyched to see AOU. But unfortunately, I honestly can’t say that I like it more than the first. It felt a little…duller? I’m not sure exactly what the right word is to use, but from the colors to the line delivery to the plot, everything just felt a little more eh. But don’t get me wrong. I liked it. Overall, it was a pretty strong movie. It just could have been a lot better.

Here are some thoughts I had about the movie (SPOILERS AHEAD):

1. I LOVED how they opened the movie mid-fight. SO FREAKING AWESOME. I’m still dying over the sequence where the team all leap towards the enemy at once. YOU KNOW WHAT SCENE I’M TALKING ABOUT.

2. Clint and Natasha’s friendship is literally my favorite thing about this movie, and I’m upset they didn’t show it more. I know that some people are upset at having lost the chance to see “Clintasha” become MCU canon, but I’m actually kind of okay with Clint having a cute little family in the country and Natasha being “Aunt Nat” to his kids. I think it’s sweet. When they finally make the Black Widow movie (which I’m still holding out for. DO YOU HEAR ME MARVEL? MAKE THE GOSH DANG BLACK WIDOW MOVIE ALREADY!!!!!!), I kind of just want it to be Nat running around doing spy stuff and just generally being ***flawless while Clint tags along and then they do best friend stuff.

Now that’s my kind of movie.

clint and nat

3. I’d also like to bring up the fact that Joss Whedon decided to have her and Bruce Banner be a thing. WHAT THE HELL? Like, that was totally random and weird. Where did this come from?? Where do they expect this to go? I feel like they just felt bad that Mark Ruffalo (whom I love) doesn’t have his own Hulk franchise and were like, “Okay, let’s have Nat randomly come on to him and then they’re in ~love~ and that will solve all of our problems” EXCEPT FOR IT DOESN’T. It was just dumb. They should have cut this. Ruffalo and Johansson deserve better.

4. And speaking of doing the majestic Scarlet Johansson wrong, let me just say that this movie did her character no favors. Nat is my favorite Avenger. She’s funny, intelligent, has an intriguing and heartbreaking backstory and she’s capital B badass. And it’s like they have no idea what to do with her. I thought Captain America: The Winter Soldier handled her character really well—I’d argue that she was just as much protagonist as Steve Rogers. But Age of Ultron gave her two storylines: 1) falling in love with Banner (WTF) and 2) getting kidnapped???? Like, okay. Here’s my thing: NAT WOULD NEVER GET KIDNAPPED AND IF SHE DID SHE WOULD BUST HERSELF OUT OF THAT TINY ASS JAIL CELL AND NOT NEED BANNER TO BREAK HER OUT. THAT WHOLE SCENE WAS WEIRD. CUT IT. DO BETTER MARVEL.

5. I hope and pray Marvel doesn’t mistreat Captain Marvel like they’ve mistreated Black Widow.

6. BLACK PANTHERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

chadwick boseman

7. Okay, so they introduced us to the antagonist for Black Panther (aka the guy who played Gollum in Lord of the Rings) and I am SO READY to see Chadwick Boseman on screen in Cap 3.

8. Really bummed they cut the Loki scene. He’s one of the best characters to come out of this franchise and Thor’s (the embarrassing movie, not the gorgeous man) only saving grace (other than Darcy, who is bae).

9. I really liked that we got to see more Clint, especially after he spent 3/4 of the first movie as Loki’s pet monkey.

10. The one-liners in this movie just weren’t as funny and actually felt kind of forced. I really can’t think of any off the top of my head — they were that forgettable. I mean, they were there. They just weren’t great.

11. I LOVED Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver. They were seriously such a cool addition to the team. She has the coolest power we’re seen so far, and possibly the post powerful. And they were just such as sweet sibling duo, which made it 1000000000000000000x more painful when Quicksilver sacrifices himself at the end to save Clint. Watching the Scarlet Witch realize her brother had died was honestly one of the saddest things Marvel has done. But what I want to know is why can’t they bring him back?? Agent Coulsen got stabbed through the chest and Nick Fury brought him back real quick. Quicksilver is a butt-kicking superhero who got shot a few times and you’re telling me he doesn’t live?? I don’t buy it. STAY CONSISTENT, MARVEL.

Quicksilver-Scarlet-Witch

12. This movie made me really not like Tony Stark. He created Ultron (who goes on to kill a bunch of people and be a pretty big pain in the butt) and he’s fairly unapologetic about the whole thing. Like, yeah I just created a giant murderbot and thousands of people are going to die and he’s trying to take over the world but GEEZ GET OVER IT GUYS. I know Tony’s a narcissistic jerk, but this took it to another level. Are they trying to make us not like him? I’m beginning to wonder if he’s going to serve as more of an antagonist in Cap 3. I just feel like he lost all of the character development he went through in the last Iron Man movie

13. I miss Pepper. Where is she?

14. We needed more Maria. She’s the only thing holding SHIELD together and she totally kicked but in The Winter Soldier.

15. Steve’s flashback/mind-control thing about Peggy was heartbreaking. His whole story just breaks my heart. PLEASE LET STEVE BE HAPPY. (Also, side note, I’m going to dissolve into a puddle of tears and despair if they kill him off in Cap 3. I know it’s looking that way, but I just can’t do it. I can’t let it happen. HE DESERVES MORE.)

16. I’m beginning to realize that the theme of this review is “He/she/we deserved more,” and I think that pretty accurately sums up the movie.

17. That whole scene where Thor grabs Professor Selvig and goes to a magical puddle in a cave and shoots lightning from his pecs and learns about the Infinity Stones was so dumb. Where did he learn about this? How did Selvig know about it? THIS WAS TOO CONVENIENT. Honestly, this was just lazy writing. DO BETTER, JOSS.

thor in puddle

18. I’m sad we’ve lost J.A.R.V.I.S., but I must admit, Vision is pretty dang awesome. I screamed (along with the other 100 people in the theater) when he picked up Mjölnir and handed it to Thor.

19. When the Avengers essentially disbanded in the end, I was surprised by how unmoved I was. If that had happened at the end of the first film, I would have died. But now, I feel pretty apathetic to the whole thing, and that bums me out.

20. Though I will say, Avengers 2.0 looks pretty cool: Captain America and Black Widow at the helm, and then War Machine, Falcon, Vision, and Scarlet Witch. They’ll probably get along a lot better and do a lot less dumb crap.

21. James Spader as Ultron (or anything, for that matter) was a stroke of genius.

ultron

22. I NEED MORE NICK FURY.

23. I love how Fury rode in on his helicarrier at the last minute and saved the day, like a boss.

24. Defeating Ultron was a lot less difficult that I anticipated. I mean, obviously it was hard, but I thought there was going to be some great epic showdown but he kind of just went out with a whimper. And I’m still confused as to how they managed to break up the giant floating piece of city that was hurtling down towards the earth. I feel like a good 95% of this movie was Marvel hoping we’d just let stuff slide, like logic and good sense.

25. Why didn’t they have a post-credit scene? Boo.

26. But that scene with Thanos at the end made me want to watch Guardians of the Galaxy again. Now that’s a good movie, Marvel!

27. I’d be down for a Falcon or Scarlet Witch movie.

28. It was weird/cool that Velma from those Scooby Doo movies played Clint’s wife.

velma

29. Scooby Doo was a pretty solid movie.

30. Chris Evans (aka Steve Rogers aka my future husband) ripping a log in two is my new favorite thing.

31. It was cruel to put Idris Elba and Hayley Atwell in this movie and not let them stay for more than 30 seconds each.

32. Are we ever going to get a Loki movie?

33. The glowsticks on Nat’s suit are cool.

34. I really liked the addition of Dr. Helen Cho (world-renowned geneticist). Not only did she make Vision (!), but she fell under Ultron’s mind control and still came out a total BAMF. Helen Cho 4 Prez.

35. What was with Ultron and Pinocchio’s “I’ve Got No Strings”? Like, out of all the things in this world, this was the thing that this giant murderous robot went, hmmmm yes. I connect with this. 

36. Chris Evans ❤

cap poster

Leave a Reply

