I Don’t Have Great Taste In Music But I’m Going to Make a List of My Favorite Movie Soundtracks Anyway

I think my title says it all.

**A lot of these are probably really obvious, and maybe for some you’ll read this and think, ummm….no?????? Oh well.**

1. The Hunchback of Notre Dame

Okay, so I think that The Hunchback of Notre Dame is one of the most underrated     movies EVER. Like, we all know it’s good, but it’s not until we re-watch it that we remember just how good it was. I mean, just listen to the first few seconds of “The Bells of Notre Dame.” CHILLS. This entire soundtrack has a cinematic feel that weaves itself perfectly into the story, and it creates songs that could easily stand alone. (I’m actually listening to it as I write).

My Picks: “The Bells of Notre Dame” is obviously FANTASTIC, and we can’t forget “Out There” and “Heaven’s Light/Hellfire.” But the absolute best song on the entire soundtrack is “God Help the Outcasts.” My mom used to sing around the house all the time, so I suppose it has sentimental value to me.

2. Moulin Rouge

Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman. That’s really all you need to know. They both have amazing voices and give the songs such life and color. And let’s not forget Baz Luhrmann’s penchant for adapting pop music for his movies. It’s a fantastic mess of triumphant numbers and mournful ballads.

My Picks: “Lady Marmalade” is possible the most perfect lady power pop remake of all time, so it gets a shout out. “Elephant Love Medley” is fun to sing along to, but I think the real standouts on the soundtrack are “El Tango de Roxanne” and “Come What May.” (still salty that last one got disqualified for “Best Song” at the Oscars).

3. Guardians of the Galaxy

Of course I was going to put this one on my totally cliche list of best soundtracks. IT’S SO GOOD. The songs really brought out the quirkiness of the film, and I’m not saying the movie wouldn’t have been good without it, but it certainly would have been missing out on that special something the soundtrack provides. And side note: maybe it’s just because I was young when I first heard it, but I had NO IDEA that “Escape: The Piña Colada Song” was about a guy trying to cheat on his lady only to find out that she’s trying to cheat on him too and they end up together again. IT’S WILD!

My Picks: My favorite song for this soundtrack usually depends on my mood, and today I’m really feeling “Come and Get Your Love.”

4. Twilight: New Moon

Okay, I’m not going to hate on the Twilight series. Were they good? Dear God, no. But they were fun and more importantly, brought about some of the greatest soundtracks OF ALL TIME. I’m not going to talk about all of them, but definitely go check them out. I personally think the New Moon soundtrack (and movie) was the best. It has this super indie-mellow feel that makes me feel all hipster. I love it. It’s perfect to play when you’re laying in bed and you have those string lights hanging up and you just want to chill. You should also probably be wearing plaid.

My Picks: “Roslyn” is a song that makes me think about driving through the mountains during the fall. I don’t know why or what you’re supposed to do with that information. “Possibility” and “The Violet Hour” are also songs that have seen many plays on my iPod. But honestly, you can’t go wrong with any of these songs.

5. Divergent

Let me just start by saying that people need to give Divergent more credit. It’s actually a pretty great movie (if you’re so inclined, you can check out my review of it). If I’m being honest, I’m just a sucker for any movie with an interesting and complex female lead. But I digress. This soundtrack has such a futuristic feel to it (which I guess was the point, so good job). I actually left the theatre and immediately bought the soundtrack, which is kind of a big deal for me.

My Picks: “Distress” has recently become a favorite of mine, and I love listening to it as I walk to and from class. It makes me feel all badass. And I’m a big Ellie Goulding fan, so I’m partial to the “Hanging On (I See Monstas Remix)” and “Dead in the Water.”

6. The Great Gatsby

Not a great movie (not going to get into that now), but an excellent soundtrack. It’s the second Baz Luhrmann movie soundtrack I’ve got on here, so like Moulin Rouge, you can expect fun twists on pop classics and some cool new moody songs you’re sure to love.

My Picks: Lana del Rey was perfectly picked for this, and her song “Young and Beautiful” is absolutely and heartbreakingly gorgeous. It’s the kind of song that makes you want to just go and scroll through a lot of hipster Tumblr blogs. I’m also a huge fan of “Over the Love” and think the remake of “Back to Black” is fantastic.

7. Pride and Prejudice (2005)

So here’s my one instrumental soundtrack on the list. Again, this is another one that I associate with my mom, so I suppose I’m a little biased. Pride and Prejudice is also the movie I always cite as my favorite when people ask my to name my favorite (which, btw is a terrible question because how can you have just one favorite movie???) It’s just very pretty and makes me think of the English countryside (which I’ve never been to but I imagine is gorgeous).

My Picks: “Liz on Top of the World.” I’m pretty sure this is the music they play in heaven. It’s absolutely breathtaking.

8. The Prince of Egypt

Like The Hunchback of Notre Dame, this movie is GROSSLY underrated. IT IS SO FREAKING GOOD I WISH I COULD PROPERLY CONVEY JUST HOW AMAZING IT IS. And on top of an amazing movie, it has an amazing soundtrack! It’s the epitome of perfection! It’s so epic and makes you feel so many feelings. Like, I have no idea why Ridley Scott felt the need to make Exodus: Gods and Kings when we already had this. Simply unnecessary.

My Picks: One song that always gets me is “Deliver Us,” which is the song that opens the movie and Moses is sent down the river by his mother. It’s a heartbreaking and powerful song, and really sets the tone of the movie. And “When You Believe” won Best Original Song at the 1999 Academy Awards, and while I don’t always agree with the Academy, they definitely got this one right.

9. Fifty Shades of Grey

THIS SOUNDTRACK IS BETTER THAN IT HAS ANY RIGHT TO BE. It’s kind of like the Twilight soundtracks in that sense, which is funny when you think about how Fifty Shades started off as Twilight fanfiction. It has everything from golden oldie Frank Sinatra to current soundtrack staple Ellie Goulding. Please don’t let your bias towards the film keep you away from this gem.

My Picks: “Earned It. ” “Earned It.” “EARNED IT.” UGH this song is so good. I’m actually disgusted with myself for how many times I’ve listened to it. My roommate plays “Meet Me in the Middle” on a daily basis, so I’ve grown to love that one too (which may just be a coping mechanism. Idk.) Also make sure to check out “I Know You” and “One Last Night,” which are both super moody and slow. And of course, it would be blasphemous of me to not point out “Crazy in Love (2014 Remix),” but I assume you all already knew that was going to be great.

One thought on “I Don’t Have Great Taste In Music But I’m Going to Make a List of My Favorite Movie Soundtracks Anyway

Leave a Reply

