Summer Internship Extravaganza

As I suspected would happen, I’ve been pretty terrible with keeping up with the blog since school ended. Now that I no longer have the threat of a failing grade to keep me on my toes blog-wise, I’ve let myself slack. But don’t worry, my life hasn’t been too terribly exciting since my last post. Most of my time has been spent in the company of Olivia Benson, Elliot Stabler and a bag of chips. Life is good.

The most notable thing that’s happened since summer vacation started has been that I was actually able to land an internship (applause is not necessary, but is greatly appreciated). And I don’t mean to brag, but as far as unpaid summer labor goes, I’ve got a pretty sweet gig. I’m an intern in the promotions department at Clear Channel Media + Entertainment, which means I get to help out with various events and day-to-day office work for multiple radio stations under the Clear Channel umbrella. It’s pretty awesome.

Movies often depict summer jobs as soul-crushing–and they usually are. Trust me.

Image

But this internship is fun and engaging, and the fact that a B or C-list celebrity may walk through the door at any moment is exciting. We even have the chance to see A-listers (albeit, from a distance) at concerts throughout the summer. Knowing that I have a chance (even if it is a small one) to work at the Justin Timberlake concert gives me strength.

Anyway, I thought I’d post a few pictures of what intern life has been like thus far. (Please excuse the crappy phone quality. Annie Leibovitz I am not).

Image

This  is Wild Cub’s bassist right before the band performed at 106.5 the End’s New Music Revolution at the Fillmore in Charlotte.

Image

Wild Cub performing. They were really talented and extremely nice. They also had excellent hair, so props to them for that.

Image

Here I am posing next to the Mystery Machine outside of VBGB. Shout-out to whoever owns this masterpiece.

Image

This is drawn on the wall of the office. As much as I’d like to take credit for this beautiful illustration of Han Solo frozen in carbonite, I cannot. But I am on the hunt for the artist and intend to become best friends with him/her.

Hopefully I’ll have more exciting stories and pictures to post as the summer goes on. I’m also holding out for some free radio station swag that gets leftover from events. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

